Presidential Search Update – Stakeholder Advisory Committee

Presidential Search Update – Stakeholder Advisory Committee

December 5, 2016

Dear Campus Community:

As we move along the path to selecting Truman State University’s next president, we are excited to announce the members of our Stakeholder Advisory Committee.  The members represent an important part of the search process as they will represent all constituencies (students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the Kirksville community at large) in the finalist interviews.

Students/Student Government

  • Lucasana Barker, sophomore/biology
  • Brett Combs, sophomore/political science and communication

Faculty/Faculty Governance

  • Debra Cartwright, Business Administration
  • James D’Agostino, English and Linguistics

Staff/Staff Council

  • Michelle Boyd, Health and Exercise Sciences/Athletics
  • Billi Gordy, Academic Advising/Business

President’s Administrative Council/Academic Deans

  • Janet Gooch, Health Sciences and Education/Science and Mathematics
  • Charles Hunsaker, Advancement
  • David Rector, Administration, Finance and Planning

Foundation Board/Alumni

  • Mike McClaskey (‘85)
  • Matthew W. Potter (’96)

Kirksville Community, at large

  • Mari Macomber, Kirksville City Manager

Feel free to share with these individuals your vision about the direction of Truman State University and the characteristics needed to accomplish that vision.  Please understand that they cannot share any information with you as they are the key to keeping the identities of the candidates confidential.  This applies to the period prior to the interviews, as well as after the next president is chosen, when the names of the other finalists will remain in strict confidence.

While writing, we want to thank the leadership of Faculty Senate, Staff Council and Student Government for their assistance with the selection of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee.

Thank you, also, to the members of the Presidential Search Committee which met on campus this past Friday, along with search consultants R. William Funk and Associates, to begin the work of distilling the pool of applications to semi-finalists.  Like the Stakeholder Advisory Committee, the members of the Presidential Search Committee represent the various constituents of the University and welcome input from the campus community.

Updates and additional information related to the search can be found on the Presidential Search Committee website located at


Sarah Burkemper
Chair, Board of Governors

Comments are closed.