Political Science Blog

  • Three Majors Present at Illinois Research Conference

    April 17, 2011

    Three Truman Political Science Majors presented papers at the 19th Annual Illinois State University Conference for Students of Political Science on the campus of Illinois State University-Normal on April 8. Jenny Johnson presented her work on “Political Islam and Gender Inequality.” Syed Zaidi gave his paper on “Islam and Democracy in Asia.” Sarah Backhaus presented […]

  • Political Science Majors Compete in Mock Trial

    March 19, 2011

    The Truman Mock Trial team finished 8th out of 24 teams in the opening round of national competition the weekend of March 11-13th. Truman was the only non-Division I school to place in the top ten. Three political science majors were members of the squad: Dan Hammond, Amanda Nehrkorn and Anne Frydrych. Dan won the […]

  • Department Honorees Announced

    March 3, 2011

    Amanda Nehrkorn has been selected by the Political Science Faculty as the Outstanding Senior for 2011. Department Honors were awarded to Amanda, David Scott and to Allison Coffelt. Department Honors are noted on the recipients’ transcripts and in the commencement program. Department Honorees must have an overall GPA of 3.65, a political science GPA of […]

  • Midwest Undergraduate Research Conference

    January 28, 2011

    Truman Political Science majors are invited to apply to the Annual Midwest Political Science Undergraduate Research Conference from April 15-16 at Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  Students wishing to present their research in the areas of American Government, International Relations, Comparative Politics, Public Administration and Political Thought are encouraged to apply.  Students seeking department […]

  • Model UN Team Wins Best Delegation Award Truman’s Model United Nations Team won the award for best delegation at the 21st annual American Model United Nations (AMUN) conference in November, 2010.  This year, Truman’s team represented the General Assembly Plenary for the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Truman competed against more than 1,500 students from […]

  • 2010 Undergraduate Research Conference

    September 2, 2010

    Merits of the Merit Plan Daniel N. Hammond Dr. John J. Quinn, Faculty Mentor Islam and Democracy in Asia: Friends or Foes Syed Muhammad M. Zaidi Dr. James T. Przybylski, Faculty Mentor Retrenchment Budgeting in Theory and Practice Cole E. Rakow Dr. Candy C. Young, Faculty Mentor

  • Ryan Mueller Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

    Ryan Walker Mueller (2011) was inducted this last academic year into Truman’s Delta Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest Liberal Arts and Sciences Honors Society. Ryan is pictured receiving his award from Dr. Donahue, President Delta of Missouri Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

  • Summer Experiences

    Michael Dijak (2013) has been working with Vector Marketing, a national sales and marketing company since May 2009. He was recently promoted to Branch Manager and will be opening and running his own sales office in West Des Moines, IA for the summer. He will be the sole entrepreneur in charge of that office this […]

  • Political Science Graduates Honored at Spring 2010 Commencement

    A number of political science graduates were honored for their outstanding achievements during the Spring 2010 commencement. Those graduating with Department Honors in Political Science were: Kailey Burger, Cole Rakow, Lindsey Gill, and Phillip Raine. Lindsey Gill was also named the Outstanding Senior in Political Science. Recipients for Departmental Honors must meet the following qualifications: […]

  • Political Science Students Association Founded

    This year marked the founding of the Political Science Student Association, a student initiated effort that focuses on offering support of all kinds to Political Science students. The PSSA provides students with resources useful to upcoming careers, advice and planning for the major, and fosters a sense of community within the major. Last fall, we […]