Political Science Blog

  • Model UN Team Wins Best Delegation Award

    December 7, 2011

    The Truman State team won the “Outstanding Delegation Award “ for its representation of the Islamic Republic of Iran at the American Model United Nations International Conference held in Chicago, Illinois from November 19-22. Stephen Gott and Chelsea Rodriguez were noted for their outstanding performance in their roles. Mehdi Zaidi also was chosed by the […]

  • Political Science Faculty And Students To Present At the ISA-Midwest

    October 27, 2011

    Truman Political Science faculty and students will be active participants at the International Studies Association-Midwest Conference from November 11-13 at the Hilton at the Ballpark in St. Louis.  Professor Michael Rudy will present a paper that he co-authored with Wyatt Hoffman and Jeff Hunt entitled “Evaluating the Visegrad Battlegroup.”  Political Science Senior Dan Ritter will […]

  • Zaidi Has Article Accepted for Publication

    October 26, 2011

    Political Science major Syed Zaidi has had his article “Islam and Democracy in Asia” accepted for publication in the Summer 2010 edition of Studies on Asia.

  • Grad School Consortium in International Affairs to Visit Campus

    August 31, 2011

    A consortium of graduate schools of international affairs which includes Tufts University (The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy), Princeton University (The Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs), Georgetown University (Walsh School of Foreign Service), Columbia University (School of International and Public Affairs), and Johns Hopkins University (School of Advanced International Studies) will […]

  • Dr. Galina Zapryanova Joins Faculty

    August 9, 2011

    Dr. Galina Zapryanova joins the Political Science faculty this academic year as a visiting Assistant Professor of Political Science. Dr. Zapryanova has a Bachelor’s degree from Mount Holyoke College, and received her M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Pittsburgh. She spent the summer of 2011 as a Research Fellow at the Max Weber […]

  • Elizabeth Hatting Receives Department Honors

    April 26, 2011

    Elizabeth Hatting has received department honors for the May 2011 commencement. Elizabeth joins Amanda Nehrkorn, David Scott and Allison Coffelt as this spring’s honorees. Department honors are noted on the recipients’ transcripts and in the commencement program. To earn department honors, graduates must have an overall GPA of 3.65, a GPA in the major of […]

  • Jenny Johnson Wins Best Paper Award at ISU Conference

    Jenny Johnson, senior political science major, was a recipient of a Pi Sigma Alpha Best Paper Award at the 19th Annual Illinois State Conference for Students of Political Science on its Bloomington-Normal campus on April 8th. Jenny presented her work entitled ” Political Islam and Gender Inequality” at the meeting. Her faculty mentor was Assistant […]

  • Phi Beta Kappa Inducts Six Political Science Majors

    April 18, 2011

    Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s most prestigious honor society for the liberal arts and sciences, inducted six politcal science majors into Truman’s Delta chapter of the organization on April 17th. Our newest Phi Beta Kappa members are Christian Johns, Shannon Miller, Amanda Nehrkorn, Adam Reynolds, Dylan Terry and Syed Zaidi.

  • Truman Participates at Midwest Undergraduate Research Conference

    April 17, 2011

    David Scott and Dr. Randy Hagerty participated at the Twentieth Annual Midwest Political Science Undergraduate Research Conference on the campus of Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, April 15-16. David presented his paper entitled “Insights into the Nature of Political Evolution: The Competing Cases of Hayek and Marx.” Dr. Hagerty served as the chair and […]

  • Majors Present at Undergraduate Research Conference

    Five Political Science majors presented papers at Truman State’s Undergraduate Research Conference on April 12. Christopher Wilcox, mentored by Dr. Candy Young, gave a paper entitled “The Effects of Inequality on Social Tolerance.” Aaron Miers, mentored by Professor Michael Rudy, gave his paper on “The Culture of War.” Clee Shy, also mentored by Professor Rudy, […]