Political Science Blog

  • Model UN Team Wins Awards

    December 27, 2012

    The Department’s Pols 251 Model UN class participated in American Model United Nations (AMUN) International in Chicago from November 17-20. A group of 25 students represented two delegations, Kazakhstan and Panama, over this four-day conference. Truman State was recognized with an outstanding delegation Award for exceptional representation of Panama, as an “Overall Best Delegation.” Also, […]

  • Foster Receives Department Honors

    November 26, 2012

    The Department of Political Science is pleased to announce that Joshua Foster has received Department Honors for the Fall 2012 Commencement. Foster will have this distinction noted on his permanent transcript and special notation of the award will be made in the commencement program

  • Political Science Alum To Deliver Commencement Address

    April 27, 2012

    The Spring 2012 Commence Address will be delivered by Political Science alumna Beth Morrison Klein, (B.A. 1983 Summa Cum Laude). She is an accomplished lawyer who chooses to dedicate her life and legal skills to end human trafficking. Her parents, Ralph and Lois Morrison, both graduated from Truman. Her grandfather, Ray Cooksey, and great-grandfather, Ulysses […]

  • Margaret Edwards Joins Political Science Faculty

    Margaret Edwards has joined the Political Science faculty beginning in Fall 2012.  Professor Edwards is a doctoral candidate at the Universityof New Mexico with broad expertise in Comparative Politics, International Politics, Methodology, Political Parties, Institutions, and Regime Change, in addition to her in-depth knowledge of Latin America.  Professor Edwards has been awarded a Fulbright Grant to study […]

  • Majors Present at ISU Political Science Conference

    Michael Baharaeen, senior Political Science major, won a Pi Sigma Alpha Best Paper award at the 20th annual Illinois State University Conference for Students of Political Science.  Michael’s paper was entitled “The Medical Marijuana Program Act: A Critical Analysis of the Formulation of California’s Medical Marijuana Law.”  His faculty mentor for the project was Dr.Randy […]

  • Pi Sigma Alpha Inducts New Members

    The Truman State Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national Honorary Society for Political Scientists, inducted nine new members during its initiation ceremony on April 5.  The new members are Michael Corey-Yares, Nicola Fish, Cody Hagan, Wyatt Hoffman, Alec Kelley, Ryan Kohler, Ryan Nely, Andrew Peake, and Michael Polwort.  The officers chosen for the upcoming […]

  • Dicke, Wagman Present at MPSURC

    April 2, 2012

    Rachel Dicke and Emily Wagman presented papers at the 21st Annual Midwest Political Science Undergraduate Research Conference, which was held on the campus of Creighton University on March 30-31. Rachel presented on “European Integration and Relative Economic Strength.” Emily’s paper was entitled “The Effects of Foreign Aid Shocks on Civil Armed Conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa.” […]

  • Adam Crews Selected As Outstanding Senior

    March 28, 2012

    Adam Crews has been selected by the Political Science faculty as the Outstanding Student in Political Science for the 2011-12 Academic Year. Adam plans to attend law school after graduation, and currently has been accepted to law school at Harvard, Virginia, Duke and other institutions.

  • Department Honorees Announced

    March 20, 2012

    The Department of Political Science is pleased to announce the recipients of Department Honors for the Spring 2012 Commencement. Honorees will have this distinction noted on their permanent transcripts, and special notation of the award will be made in the commencement program. The 2012 Honorees are Jordan Bucheit, Amanda Ciecior, Adam Crews, Rachel Dicke, Daniel […]

  • Daniel Hammond Receives Departmental Honors

    December 9, 2011

    Daniel Hammond has received Departmental Honors for the Fall 2011 Commencement from Truman State. In addition to earning a perfect grade point average, Daniel has served two internships for the U.S. Department of Justice, received the Outstanding Attorney Award at the National Mock Trial Association competition, and participated on the Truman Model UN Team that […]