Giving Opportunities Honor Retiring Faculty Members

Kit Hadwiger, Stephen Hadwiger, Stephanie Powelson
Dr. Kit Hadwiger, Dr. Stephen Hadwiger, and Dr. Stephanie Powelson

Contributions to two funds previously established through the Truman State University Foundation have dual benefits — they enhance the Truman State University Nursing Department, and they honor three highly respected members of the Nursing Department who are retiring this summer, Dr. Stephanie Powelson, Dr. Stephen Hadwiger, and Mrs. Mariquit (Kit) Hadwiger.

Dr. Powelson and her husband, Tim Tucker established the Powelson/Tucker Nursing Lab Fund in 2010, which is intended to encourage the growth and development of the nursing lab at Truman.

The Hadwigers established the Stephen and Mariquit Hadwiger Endowed Study Abroad Scholarship earlier this year. This fund is intended for nursing majors at Truman who are studying abroad, with a preference for nursing majors who are studying abroad in a program sponsored by the Nursing Department.

Want to learn more about these funds? Check out these links:

Make a gift

Interprofessional Obstetrics Simulation

In February 2017 nursing students enrolled in NU 375: Maternal/Neonatal Nursing participated in an interprofessional birth simulation at the Drabing Human Patient Simulation Center on the A.T. Still University campus in Kirksville. The main objective of the experience was to foster improved interprofessional communication between medical and nursing students. The simulation was coordinated by NU 375’s course instructor Brenda Austin MSN, RN and Lisa Archer BSN, RN, the director of Simulation & Performance Assessment at ATSU. Students participated in several different birth scenarios, assisted in examination of the mother before and after delivery, and provided care to the neonate after birth.

Sigma Theta Tau International Inductees

Smart and talented students were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International, a nursing honors program.

Back Row, L to R: J. Trent Hoover, Holly Troyer, Kaitlyn Heman, Sandra Dostalik, Hannah Hopson, Emily Coe, Trudi Gatteys, Mickenna Broman, and Andrew Kramer. Front Row: Sydney Cornett, Stephanie Dummerth, Kelsey Hamel, Ashlee Thompson, Julia Walther, Ashley Coe, Hollie Urbeck. Not pictured: Nursing students Jessica Groenke and Laura Tarantino; faculty member Alison Winston, and nursing leader Courtney Oxendale.

2016 Sigma Theta Tau International Inductees