Truman State University Recognized as Top Producer of Fulbrighters

Truman State University Recognized as Top Producer of Fulbrighters

April 4, 2016


Truman State University has been recognized as a top producer of U.S. Fulbright students for 2015-2016 in “The Chronicle of Higher Education.” The Fulbright Award, named after Senator J. William Fulbright who was an influential proponent of international cooperation, is awarded annually to approximately 8,000 recipients worldwide. 1,600 of the 8,000 recipients are United States students.Truman State University is tied in ranking sixth nationally among master’s students who have received the Fulbright Award. During the past three years, Truman’s MAE program has had four of our students chosen as Fulbright recipients: Bethany Hoekzma (Greece), Mia Pohlman (Greece), Heather Redel Jaber (Malaysia), and Brain Jacob (Germany).

Students chosen to participate in the program are known as Fulbrighters, and there are over 155 countries that the Fulbrighters may be assigned to serve. These students are willing to change the world via their vision for mutual understanding. The Fulbrighters are chosen based on their academic merit and leadership potential. Although our students are English teaching assistants, participants can serve in many areas solving problems and serving the community, such as the environment, education, public health, and food security. The students who are chosen are current and future leaders who are committed to international engagement, ready to share knowledge of culture, and are open to new ideas.

This international educational exchange transforms lives and bridges the geographic and cultural gaps between countries to promote peaceful cooperation in a prosperous world. The Education Department at Truman State University is proud to develop such driven teachers who are committed to changing the world in all facets possible, and we applaud those who have and will be serving in the Fulbright program during their time here at Truman State University.



Comments are closed.